In case you missed our original July 18 presentation, this popular webinar topic is back again!
Texas law allows rental property owners to charge late fees if the rent is not paid on time – but the law doesn’t spell out exactly what can be charged, or for how long. Some owners are being challenged in court over their late fees – and with a statutory penalty of three times the amount of the fee charged in violation of the statute, $100 and attorneys’ fees, that can quickly add up. At this webinar, you'll learn more about:
- What you should consider when setting your late fees
- What factors a court may consider if late fees are challenged
- What supporting evidence you may need to justify your fees, and
- How new changes in the Texas Apartment Association Lease Contract are addressing this issue.
Continuing Education Credits: 1 hour NAA CEC, not approved for MCEs from TREC
Presenter: Howard Bookstaff is the head of the multi-family practice at Hoover Slovacek LLP and has concentrated in the areas of commercial and residential real estate, landlord/tenant law and community association law for over 25 years.